top of page

Bar Soba Review

Updated: Jun 13, 2023

Bar Soba, the modern upbeat Asian restaurant located on Hanover Street which packs a powerful punch. As you walk in, there is a noticeable modernized atmosphere while still paying respect to its Southeast Asian heritage. Graffiti-splattered walls and neon lighting contrast with the lanterns which dangle from the ceiling to create an urban yet delicate feel.

Although I booked online, the weekday dining scene was calm and relaxed, so I’m sure you will secure a walk-in seat if you avoid the typically busy times. Ordering is made simple by scanning a QR code, which as an introvert I couldn’t help but appreciate. However, this relaxed ordering style didn’t reflect the quality of the food.


Established in 1999, Bar Soba say that its cuisine represents the Southeast Asian Street food culture, as its a la carte street food menu offers noodle dishes such as pad thai and teriyaki noodles, and smaller dishes such as bao buns and dumplings.


I opted for the pad thai with chicken and Atlantic prawns. The noodles were filling without feeling heavy and the fresh prawns and tender chicken packed flavour amongst the variety of spices. Speaking of which, the dish was definitely on the spicier side, however as somebody who enjoys some heat in my food there were zero complaints. Costing me £13.50, this felt well justified due to the large portion size and great quality. Bar Soba mention their “Cutting-edge Music from the best local and international DJs” which stands true as I enjoyed the range of tunes which I wasn’t familiar with.


While Bar Soba offers various Southeast Asian-inspired cocktails, I washed down my meal with a couple of strawberry gin and tonics which helped tone down the spice of the pad thai. Although, next time I would definitely give the cocktails a go such as their “Tiger Lily Colada” and “Singapore Sling” or their “Mango Tango Skull”, a group-sharing drink the size of a real human skull.


Another of Bar Soba’s perks I’d like to try is their Boozy Brunch, entailing a delicious main course alongside 4 drinks each for only £30 – an absolute deal in my eyes. Also, their £7 lunch menu offers lunch options such as their “Soba Beef Burger” which leave you full without breaking the bank.


With a great atmosphere, great music and great prices, Bar Soba is a must-try.

Comments


bottom of page