top of page

Bread Street Kitchen Review

Updated: Jun 13, 2023





Gordon Ramsay’s Bread Street Kitchen and Bar is the ultimate dining experience. The restaurant can be found on St Andrews Square, home to some of Edinburgh’s most notorious food spots such as The Ivy, Gaucho and Dishoom.


As you walk in there’s an instant sense of sophistication with the dark seating and walls alongside lights which dangle from the ceiling. Being seated on the upper level provided a nice view of Edinburgh's centre.


With the table pre-set with cutlery, napkins and wine glasses amongst the obviously refined atmosphere, I couldn’t help but feel a little out of place for somebody who enjoys the simpler things in life.


Nonetheless, I began to immerse myself in the menu and settled on the half-grilled chicken with chimichurri, accompanied by a side of Koffmann’s fries. The chicken was £24.50 with the chips being an additional £5. The high price was alarming yet expected, it's obvious that a place such as Bread Street Kitchen is only for rare occasions and my expectations for the meal were set incredibly high.


While spending over £20 on chicken and chips felt a little obnoxious, when my food arrived, my standards were met. The chicken was huge, I had to work away at it for what felt like forever, something which I appreciated for its price point. It was cooked perfectly, tender, and moist and worked amazingly with the chimichurri, a sauce which I had never tried before but it gave the chicken a refreshing kick.


After demolishing my meal, it was time for dessert. One quick glance at the menu and the choice was obvious, the chocolate fondant with salted caramel ice cream. For only £9, the glorious-sounding dessert wasn’t too badly priced compared to the chicken. The warm fondant accompanied by the cold caramel was a combination to die for. I usually find that desserts such as these are too rich, however, the dessert was just the right portion size to leave me feeling satisfied.



So, is Bread Street Kitchen your everyday restaurant of choice? No. However, for a special meal out I have no complaints. Great service, great food and a great atmosphere. Gordon Ramsay has the right to be pleased with this one.



Recent Posts

See All

Bar Soba Review

Bar Soba, the modern upbeat Asian restaurant located on Hanover Street which packs a powerful punch. As you walk in, there is a...

תגובות


bottom of page